Finding perspective 

Sometimes in life it takes a tragedy to make us remember that our silly squabble over what to watch on TV or the fact that your best friend has forgotten to return your coat you lent them is actually not that important.

  
Today perspective came at me like a bullet train. I’m busy at work (a supermarket at Christmas!!), getting more and more tired and trying to remember what it was like to have never suffered from any form of pain. Then with two hours to go a call out is made asking for a first aided to the front of the store.

Now that is not me. I would like to know some basic and certain advanced first aid procedures because you do never know when it will come in handy. But I never thought much of it as it is not a rarity that a call is made for a first aider. However, today it would prove to be a bad one.

Half an hour or so passed and I had forgotten all about the announcement until my colleague said that there was police and an ambulance outside and that he believed someone had had a heart attack. Well I was worried them and curious but again didn’t think too much of it because there was people dealing with it.

Then as more time passed it had gotten round to the colleagues that in actual fact a customer had had an accident and had most unfortunately passed away. He hadn’t just simply died either as three colleagues all first aid trained had gone to deal with it but they were sadly too late.

It shook the entire store, you could straightaway see a difference in the colleagues. When I finally came across the people who had tried to save the customer they were as white as ghosts and very quiet but then again wouldn’t we all be the same? But my point to this post isn’t just to tell you of this tragedy but to simply remind you of a couple of things.

Life is something to enjoy. While you’re out and about stressing over how to spend on Christmas presents and the six tubs of sweets accompanied by the three boxes of biscuits and the Christmas puddings aren’t enough just remember you might not be around to enjoy it at all. Today a life was taken three days before Christmas, it was probably someone who was out getting the last of their Christmas shopping. 

Who knows this person may not have any family, they might have been alone but again they may be leaving behind a lot of family members who come Christmas morning will have to deal with a pile of unopened gifts. We all say and I will say it once again please please appreciate what you do have in life.

Today I am grateful to be alive, to have my wonderful family and to have a paying permanent job. There is also much more I am very appreciative for. So now you’ve thought things through what are you grateful for? 

Leave a comment